Dublin Film Critics’ Circle Awards

Presented with the support of Limelight Communications

A chance to meet Ireland’s film critics as they announce their picks for Best Film, Best Director, Best Irish Film, Best Documentary and Best Performances from the ADIFF programme and review the highlights from the Festival. 

The 2017 Jury was comprised of Brogen Hayes (Movies.ie), Nicola Timmins (Average Film Reviews), Paul Whitington (Irish Independent), John Maguire (Sunday Business Post), David Turpin (No More Workhorse), Donald Clarke (Irish Times), Gavin Burke (Entertainment.ie) and DFCC President Tara Brady (Irish Times).

The Dublin Film Critics Circle announced their awards at a special ceremony on the closing Sunday of ADIFF 2017 which was sponsored by Limelight Communications. The awards attracted many of the key players in film journalism and distribution. Winners attending the ceremony included Emer Reynolds, John Butler, Len Collin, Charlene Kelly and Kieran Coppinger.
Tara Brady (Irish Times), DFCC President said “As ever, it is a gruelling pleasure to head the DFCC jury at ADIFF. Gruelling because one has to pick between such amazing things as Scott Chambers ' tremendous performance in Chicken, the ravishing beauty of Hema Hema: Sing Me a Song While I Wait, the grand intergenerational tensions of Thithi, the drama of The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki, and the heartbreak of Gleason. Pleasure because of the scope of Gráinne Humphreys' programme, and the day or night assistance provided by print transport manager Mary Burke, festival publicity manager Patrick Stewart and awards sponsor Limelight Communications.”

DFCC Best Film - Aquarius
DFCC Best Actress – Florence Pugh, Lady Macbeth
DFCC Best Actor - Sherwan Haji, The Other Side of Hope
DFCC Best Director – Lav Diaz, The Woman Who Left
DFCC Best Cinematography - M. David Mullen, The Love Witch
DFCC Best Screenplay - Kristina Grozeva, Petar Valchanov, Glory
DFCC Best Irish Feature – Handsome Devil
DFCC Best Irish Documentary – The Farthest
DFCC Best Documentary – I Am Not Your Negro
DFCC Jury Prize - Kristopher Avedisian, Donald Cried
DFCC Jury Prize –  Daouda Coulibaly, Wùlu
DFCC Jury Prize – My Life as a Courgette
DFCC Jury Prize - The Transfiguration
DFCC George Byrne Maverick Award – Emer Reynolds
DFCC Michael Dwyer Discovery Award - Blue Teapot cast - Sanctuary