Proudly sponsored by Aer Lingus

The Irish film industry has never been busier - productions both large and small are reaching wider audiences, and there is an abundance of talent working the sector today. The Aer Lingus Discovery Awards aim to identify, champion, support, and encourage new and emerging talent both in front of and behind the camera.


Discover the 2022 Award Nominees

2021 Winners

Rachel Carey (Writer&Director)

Hazel Doupe (Actress)

Saileóg O'Halloran (Costume Designer)

Burschi Wojnar (Cinematographer)

2020 Winners

Cara Holmes (Director)

Dónall Ó Héalaí (Actor)

Paddy Slattery (Writer/Director)

Claire Byrne (Director)

2019 Winners 

Alexandra McGuinness (Writer/Director) 

Ian Hunt Duffy (Director) 

Oonagh Kearney (Director)

Madonna Bambino (Make Up Artist) 

2018 Winners

TJ O’Grady Peyton (Director)

Trevor Whelan (Director)

Rua Meegan (Director)

Mia Mullarkey (Director)

2017 Winners 

John Connors (Actor)

Niamh Algar (Actor)

Vincent Gallagher (Director)

2016 Winners 

Barry Keoghan (Actor)

Jack O’Shea (Director/Animator)

Kathryn Kennedy (Producer)

2014 Winner

Donal Foreman (Director)

2013 Winner

Claire Dix (Director)

2012 Winners 

Pat Collins (Director)

Brian Byrne (Film Composer)

Ian Fitzgibbon (Director)

2011 Winners

Juanita Wilson (Director)

David O’Reilly (Animator)

Aidan Gillen (Actor)

2010 Winners

Darren Healy (Actor)

Conor Horgan (Director)

Kate McCullough (Cinematographer)

2009 Winners

Cartoon Saloon (Animation Company)

Margaret Corkery (Writer/Director)

2008 Winners

Ken Wardrop (Director)

Margo Harkin (Producer)

Tim Fleming (Director of Photography)